Wednesday, May 18, 2022

The Six Enneads

THE SIX ENNEADS (Plotinus, Greek, c. 270 CE)

The Six Enneads ("groups of nine") are a collection of the writings of the Greek philosopher (born in Roman Alexandria, Egypt) named Plotinus (c. 204/5-270 CE), but compiled by his student Porphyry about the year of his death. With his teacher Ammonius Saccas, Plotinus was a founder of Neoplatonism (a label from the 19th century CE), a philosophical and religious system that extended the thought of Plato in a way that affected later Christian thinking. It focuses on three fundamental principles: the One (which "has its center everywhere but its circumference nowhere"), the Intellect (or nous, sometimes identified with God), and the Soul (an inner response to the nous).


Please leave a comment - I can't WAIT to hear from you!