Tuesday, February 1, 2022

The Vedas

THE VEDAS (India, c. 1500-900 BCE)

The Vedas are the oldest scriptures of Hinduism. There are four: the Rigveda: probably the best known in the west, a collection of hymns; the Yajurveda: prose mantras for worship rituals; the Samaveda: melodies and chants, largely taken from the Rigveda; and the Atharvaveda: religious procedures for everyday life. Each Veda is further divided into four parts: the Samhitas (the main, metrical texts), the Brahmanas (commentaries on the Samhitas); the Aranyakas (meditations on the Samhitas by forest mystics); and the Upanishads (philosophical works).

  • Veda means "knowledge."


Please leave a comment - I can't WAIT to hear from you!